Fait Accompli

Posted: March 29, 2012 in News
Tags: , ,

Here’s some news, unexpected even to me: I’m preparing to release another short story! I know, you’re so excited! This story is MUCH shorter than Those Who Can’t, which is about 10k words. It’s called Fait Accompli and is only 1500 words, so it’s a very quick read. But the fun thing about it is that it’s my first piece of smut. It was written when I was only 16, which was… More years ago than I care to remember. I found it randomly and decided to see if I could edit it to make it usable, and honestly I don’t feel like it needed much work. The style and everything is very different from what I write now, but I didn’t want to change it too much; it’s kind of fun, seeing how I’ve grown and changed and since it’s not awful as is, I just cleaned up the narrative a bit for clarity and left it.

I’m not quite sure when I’ll be posting it. The formatting is finished, mostly, I just need to design a cover and we’ll be in business! This one will only be released through Smashwords and whatever premium catalogue distributors will take it; I’m not going to charge people 99 cents on Amazon for 1500 words, that’s just silly. I might also just post it to this website after I release the eBook version, because really, why not?

Other than that, not much exciting is going on. No one likes me (on Facebook, not in general I hope) yet, but that’s okay because honestly I haven’t been doing a whole lot of promoting. I’m just laying a foundation to build on, everything takes time. I’ve had a few positive responses from blogs I’ve asked about reviewing One Night Standoff, and I’ll be hitting message boards promoting my short stories after I post Fait Accompli I guess. I’m trying hard to be strategic but I don’t actually know what I’m doing… It’s a process of trial and error.

Which reminds me!

By this point, three days after being published, Those Who Can’t is old but very good news 🙂 370 people have downloaded it altogether, and while it is slowing a bit the percentage of people who download it after checking the page out has increased. The first day, only about 25% of people who checked out the story actually downloaded it (um, maybe I should work on my summary?!), but today more than 50% of the people who check it out download it. Which I’m going to count as a win, and you can’t stop me!

That’s the last you’ll hear of TWC for awhile, I promise. Unless you’d like me to keep you updated on download stats, in which case just say so. I personally have found it difficult to get these stats from other authors, and without that there’s no benchmark. So I’m happy to share.

Leave a comment